My Balayage/Ombré Hair Journey

I’m really the definition for a Irish girl – Red hair, pale skin and freckles. Hair is something I love playing around with although I never actually touched the colour of it until May 2012.

I didn’t want the normal blonde highlight because for me they were just too high maintenance. I wanted Balayage or Ombré. This is something that gets mixed up all the time so what is the difference?

Balayage Collage

Balayage (Above) is a French colouring technique. It’s a freehand technique where the colour is applied by hand rather than using the traditional foiling or cap highlighting techniques. In short, it is freehand highlights but it looks so much more natural than normal highlights.

Ombre Collage

Ombré (Above) on the other hand is more commonly known as dip dye. Correct Ombré is meant to be a gradual lighting effect from your natural darker colour to the lightest blonde at the very end although most girls with dark hair have opted for the straight dark to bright blonde look, sadly that sometimes reminds me of just sticking a bowl on your head and bleaching all the hair below the rip bright blonde.

As I was a wimp at the start I decided I wanted to go down the Balayage route and I went to the queen of Balayage in Dublin Laura Kelly. I left it totally in her hands and just went with it. The woman is amazing she gave me a stunning subtle Balayage look and it was admired by everyone at the wedding I was attending that weekend.

I, of course, then caught the bug and wanted more and no better time then my 21st birthday in September. All I had to say to Laura was “I want more” she was a star and I felt like a million dollars. This is shown in the photo above on the right.

I was quite ill over the Christmas of 2012 and it meant I was confined to the house. This was by far the most boring time in my life and after seeing a ad for the L’Oreal new Préférence Wild Ombré kit I wanted to give it a go. I wanted to see what it would look like to have all the ends of my hair blonde and I wanted to review it for friends. It was really easy to use and for someone who never dyed her hair before I think I did a great job.

Laura Ombre

Although I’m so glad of the DIY job I did, nothing beats the luxury of visiting the salon when you have the money. Looking forward to dropping into Laura for a top up soon. I have well and truly caught the Ombré bug.

All this bleaching of course is not good for your hair no matter how thick and strong it is and I will go through my top hair products to maintain the upkeep of my hair in a future post. What do you think of the Balayage/Ombré look?

Photo 08-05-2013 02 32 00 a.m.

Details

The fantastic Laura Kelly works at Boston Belle in Swords, Co Dublin and they can be contact on (01) 807 5725.

The L’Oreal Wild Ombré kit in available in most leading Supermarkets and Boots.

Laura Finnegan

14 thoughts on “My Balayage/Ombré Hair Journey

  1. Laura has been doing my hair years I’ve tried others and I always come bc
    Ack. So refreshing to have a stylist that really listens to what you want and delivers . Great to see her finally getting the recognition she deserves!

    Like

  2. I just purchased the kit from Sephora and I am trying it out tomorrow. I had ballayage done on my hair in May 2013 and it is still on it. Was your hair still ballayaged when you used the product??

    Like

  3. With havin so much content do you ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright infringement?

    My site has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either written
    myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up
    all over the web without my agreement. Do you know any solutions to help reduce content from being stolen?
    I’d definitely appreciate it.

    Like

  4. Howdy would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re using?
    I’m looking to start my own blog soon but I’m
    having a hard time choosing between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.

    The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I’m
    looking for something completely unique. P.S My apologies
    for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

    Like

Leave a Reply

