The Ultimate Foundation 

 

estee lauder double wear

So I finally caved and bought a high end holy grail foundation and after using it for a full month I cannot wait to share it with you. Let’s start with my skin type – Normal/Combination but with a oil slick of a T-Zone when it wants to be. I have so many drugstore foundations I really like but I just got really sick of priming, concealing and powdering and still not making it until lunchtime before I look like crap again. Estée Lauder’s Double Wear is known to be amazing at not budging but I was honestly scared it was going to be too cakey for me, thankfully I was proven wrong.

I am in the shade 2C2 Pale Almond and was face matched by the amazing Estée Lauder team at Brown Thomas Dublin to get my perfect shade. This is something I highly recommend as let’s face it the foundation is not cheap so you have to make sure it is right. I have applying the foundation so many ways, with my fingers, with buffing and stippling brushes etc but it best way to apply this baby is with the Beauty Blender. It gives an airbrushed finished without being cakey and amazing coverage.

This is a medium to high coverage foundation but when blended correctly it does not look cakey at all. It is easily buildable, non transferable and does not oxidise on the skin. If I’m having a super oily day I do apply a primer and a little powder but I find it is amazing at oil control but does not settle into any dry patches or lines. I would call it a satin finish, not dewy but also not too matte, a nice compromise in the middle and it photographs really well even though it has a SPF10. It really wasn’t until I went back to using a drugstore foundation for the day that I realised my true love for the Double Wear.

Double Wear Foundation

I could not recommend it enough and I find it hard to change now. My main advice would be to buy a pump for it as it does not come with one. I will attach an eBay seller HERE. Estée Lauder’s Double Wear Foundation costs €38 and worth every penny. It can be purchased online HERE. I use the Pro Beauty Blender which I bought on Beauty Bay HERE for €20.

Laura Finnegan

Leave a Reply

